Asia-Pacific (APEC) Summit starts in Bali Indonesia

Nusa Dua, Indonesia – Asia-Pacific leaders convened on Monday for a summit in Indonesia aimed at advancing trade and investment liberalisation amid a regional economic slowdown. ………

The leaders from the 21 APEC members economies were expected to discuss goals to reduce trade and investment barriers and speed up regional economic integration and infrastructure development. ….

The APEC members are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, the United States and Vietnam.

Japan wants to protect its farming industry while Malaysia insists on keeping tobacco control measures out of the deal.

Bali welcomes member countries!

Civil society groups have said stringent intellectual property provisions proposed by the US would block access to medicines for millions of poor people in both developed and developing countries.


Leave a Reply