Canada: Kincardine Ahmadi Muslim opens up with ‘Introduction to Islam’ column

Source: | Farah Ahmad/Contributor

Farah Ahmad, a member of the Kincardine Ahmadi Muslim community.

Farah Ahmad, a member of the Kincardine Ahmadi Muslim community.

My name is Farah Ahmad, and I reside in the Kincardine community.

I represent the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, whose slogan is “Love for All, Hatred for None.”

The misconceptions about my religion have unfortunately caused fear in people’s hearts which is apparent. The purpose behind writing these articles is to communicate the beautiful teachings of Islam with our neighbours in the Kincardine community, overcome any misconceptions and answer questions that our neighbours might have.

Introduction to Islam

The literal meaning of the word “Islam” is “peace,” and the followers of this faith are called Muslims. Islam was founded 1,400 years ago, by Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him). Islam is the faith of obedience, complete submission to God and also means to be at peace with all creatures of God. Islam teaches its followers to believe in all earlier prophets and scriptures, as they were revealed by God Almighty to his chosen messengers. Therefore, Islam establishes the continuity of God’s revelation which had descended upon earlier prophets such as Abraham, Moses, Jesus, Krishna and Buddha (peace be upon them all), and focuses on the central theme of obedience and submission to One God.

Muslims follow the teachings of their Prophet, as well as their scripture known as the Holy Quran which was revealed to Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) over a period of about 23 years and contains 700 commandments for its followers.

Furthermore, Muslims are guided by 6 articles of faith which are as follows:

1. To believe in the Oneness of God
2. To believe in all His Angels
3. To believe in all His Books
4. To believe in all His Prophets
5. To believe in the Day of Resurrection
6. To believe in the Decree of God

Following these articles, there are 5 pillars of Islam, or the declaration of the Islamic faith which are:

1. Bearing witness that there is none worthy of worship but Allah and that Muhammad is His Messenger

2. Observance of Prayer
3. Paying Zakat (charity)
4. Fasting during Ramadhan
5. Pilgrimage to the house of God

All in all, Islam is a universal faith which provides a complete code of life and focuses to bring mankind back and closer to its Creator, God Almighty.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.