Imran Khan declared successful after rejected votes recount in NA-131

LAHORE: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan has been declared wining candidate from NA-131 after recounting of 2,835 rejected votes.

Imran Khan emerged as the winner again by 602 votes whose victory was challenged by the runner-up candidate, Khawaja Saad Rafique of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

Khawaja Saad Rafique and Imran’s representative Shoaib Siddiqui remained present during the process of recounting.

However, Returning Officer Muhammad Akhtar Bhangoo rejected the application of Khawaja Saad Rafique for complete recounting of polled votes in the constituency.

It is pertinent to mention here that PTI Chief Imran Khan had won elections from the National Assembly constituency by securing 84,313 votes whereas Khawaja Saad Rafique stood second by getting 83,633 votes.


Categories: Asia, Pakistan

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.