134 Million Banned From USA, Is it Islamophobia or Simply ‘Divide and Rule?’


Statue of Liberty in New York. The plaque at the base of the Statue of Liberty reads: “Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

The Muslim Times has the best collection to tackle Islamophobia

Trump’s latest executive order: Banning people from 7 countries and more

By Jeremy Diamond, CNN

Washington (CNN) With just a few quick strokes of the pen, President Donald Trump on Friday banned — temporarily, for now — more than 134 million people from entering the United States.

Trump barred citizens of seven Muslim-majority countries from entering the US for at least the next 90 days by executive order, which a senior White House official said later Friday is likely just a first step toward establishing a broader ban.

It’s unclear how many more countries will be added to the list, but the official said the administration will be “very aggressive” as it weighs how many more countries to add to the list.

Asked what criteria the administration will consider as it looks to expand the ban beyond the initial seven countries, the official said simply the “mandate is to keep America safe.”
“Not going to take any risks,” the official added.

That’s just one part of the controversial executive order Trump signed Friday dubbed: “Protecting the nation from foreign terrorist entry into the United States.”

Many of the provisions in the order are consistent with Trump’s campaign pledges.

Here’s a breakdown of what the executive order does.

Bans citizens of 7 countries

Trump banned citizens of seven Muslim-majority countries from entering the US for at least the next 90 days.

The executive order bars all people hailing from Iraq, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen — or at least 134 million people, based on 2013 World Bank census data — from entering the United States. Those countries were named in a 2016 law concerning immigration visas as “countries of concern.”

But the executive order also makes clear those seven countries are just a starting point for a likely broader ban.

Read further

Leave a Reply