Kosovo wants all OIC states to recognize it

Kosovo Foreign Minister Enver Hoxhaj, center, and OIC Secretary-General Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu, left, at the OIC headquarters in Jeddah on Saturday. (AN photo)


Sunday 13 January 2013

Enver Hoxhaj, Kosovo foreign minister, paid a special visit to the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) headquarters in Jeddah yesterday, meeting with the OIC’s secretary-general, Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu.

Hoxhaj expressed his hope that more OIC member states will recognize Kosovo as an independent country. So far, only 31 of the organization’s 57 members have granted recognition to Kosovo.

“I think after the International Court of Justice decision in July 2010 that determined our country’s declaration of independence on Feb. 17, 2008 did not violate general international law, it is the right time for those countries which did not give political or legal reasons for not recognizing Kosovo to do so now, especially after the Arab spring,” he said.

He said the last country to recognize Kosovo was Pakistan. “Pakistan is one of the important members of the OIC and in the world. I hope other counties will follow Pakistan and recognize Kosovo. This will actually support peace, security and stability in Europe and, of course, will show support for the people of Kosovo, the majority of whom are Muslims.”

Kosovo has been recognized by all GCC countries and has received 100 diplomatic recognitions as an independent state. Hoxhaj said he will be in Cairo on Monday and will make another statement there. Egypt has not recognized Kosovo as an independent state.


5 replies

  1. Recognized Kosovo
    Afghanistan +
    Albania +
    Bahrain †
    Benin †
    Burkina Faso †
    Brunei †
    Chad †
    Comoros †
    Côte d’Ivoire †
    Djibouti †
    Gabon †
    Gambia †
    Guinea †
    Guinea-Bissau †
    Jordan †
    Kuwait †
    Maldives †
    Malaysia †
    Mauritania †
    Niger †
    Nigeria †
    Oman †
    Pakistan †
    Qatar †
    Saudi Arabia †
    Senegal †
    Sierra Leone †
    Somalia †
    Turkey †
    Uganda †
    United Arab Emirates †

    Non recognized Kosovo
    Algeria • Azerbaijan • Bangladesh • Cameroon • Egypt • Guyana • Indonesia • Iran • Iraq • Kazakhstan • Kyrgyzstan • Lebanon • Libya • Mali • • Morocco • Mozambique • Palestine • Sudan • Suriname • Syria • Tajikistan • Togo • Tunisia • Turkmenistan • Uzbekistan • Yemen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.