The Three Stages of Ramadan

The Three Stages of Ramadan

Ramadan is a month of fasting, reflection, devotion, generosity and sacrifice observed by Muslims around the world. Over the centuries Ramadan has retained its passionate spiritual meaning. The word “Ramadan” comes from the Arabic word for “Parched Thirst” and “Sun-Baked Ground.” It is meaningful of the hunger and thirst felt by those who spend the month in fasting and get benefits of fasting in the month of Ramadan. Ramadan is by nature a time of sacrifice.

Each year Muslims spend the ninth month of the Islamic calendar observing a community wide fast. The fast of the month of Ramadan considered one of the five pillars of Islam. Muslims who are physically able to required to fast each day of the entire month from sunrise to sunset. The month of Ramadan lasts 29 to 30 days depending on moon sighting and according to narration; Allah Almighty divides the Holy month of Ramadan into three Stages that’s known as Ashra of Ramadan.

Ashra of Ramadan

First Part Reflects Mercy of Allah (Rehmah)

Second Part Reflects Forgiveness of Allah (Maghfirah)

Third Part Reflects Safety from the Hell (Nijat)

The Holy Prophet Muhammad ﷺ said: It (Ramadan) is the month, whose beginning is mercy, its middle, forgiveness and its end, emancipation from the fire (of hell).

No doubt, the month of Ramadan is full of blessings, mercy and forgiveness. It’s the best opportunity for all the Muslims to collect more blessings of Allah and pray for their forgiveness and to be saved from the Hell fire.

First Ashra of Ramadan – Mercy

First ten days of Ramadan are the days of Mercy and blessing and every Muslim must seek the Mercy and Blessings of Almighty Allah. It’s a special verse that usually recites the Muslims in first ten days. The Dua for the first Ashra is:

Translation: “O! My Lord forgives and have Mercy and You are the Best of Merciful”

Second Ashra of Ramadan – Forgiveness

Second ten days of Ramadan day 11th to, day 20th consists of the second Ashra and its called Ashra or forgiveness. Muslims must seek for the forgiveness of Allah Almighty and regret for all their sins. The Dua for second Ashra is:

Translation: “I ask forgiveness of my sins from Allah who is my Lord and I turn towards Him.”

Third Ashra of Ramadan – Safety

Third Ashra starts from 21st Ramadan and ends 29th or 30th Ramadan according to the moon. Third Ashra is known as Safety from the Hell it means Nijat. In the end of Ramadan is about seeking in Allah Almighty from Hellfire. Every Muslim must pray that from the safety of Hell fire. The Last Ashra is very important and superior. In this Ashra Lailatul Qadar also falls and many Muslims also practice Aitkaf (seclusion for prayers) in this Ashra and try to maximize their prayers.

Stated in Quran:

“We sent it (Quran) down on a blessed Night. Verily,We are ever warning. Therein (in that Night) is decreed every matter of ordainment. Amran (i.e. a command or this Quran or His Decree of every matter) from Us. Verily, We are ever sending (the Messenger) (As) a Mercy from your Lord.” [Quran 44: 3-6]

Dua of third Ashra is:

Translation: “I seek forgiveness from Allah, my Lord, from every sin I committed”


The Three Stages of Ramadan

Leave a Reply