Sabah bans Hizbut Tahrir, Shiah, Ahmadiyya… also liberalism, pluralism


Hizbut Tahrir members waving flags and shouting slogans during the 2015 Muktamar Khilafah at the Hotel Nouvelle in Seri Kembangan, on October 3, 2015. — Picture by Yusof Mat Isa

Source: Malaymail Online

KOTA KINABALU, Aug 8 — The Sabah state fatwa council has today banned 16 “deviant teachings”, which not only included hardliners Hizbut Tahrir and the minority Shiites and Ahmadis, but also “liberalism” and “pluralism”.

Assistant minister in the Chief Minister’s Department Datuk Mohd Ariffin Arif said the 16 teachings were decreed to be against the Sunni denomination of Islam.

“Those that are banned are the teachings of Qadiani, Al-Arqam, Hizbut Tahrir, Millah Abraham, Shiah, Tal Tujuh, Tarikat Hasaniah, Tariqat Naqsyabandiah al Aliyah, Nasrul Haq, Zikir Hasan Riimau, Awang Rezki, liberalism and pluralism,” he said in the Sabah legislative assembly today.

Shiah is the second largest Muslim denomination in the world after Sunni. Qadiani is the derogatory name for Ahmadiyya, a minority Muslim movement which is considered heretics by mainstream Muslims, and declared “deviants” in Selangor.

Read more

Suggested Reading

Collection of Ideas to Overcome Sectarian Divide Among the Muslims

Is There Coercion in Islam and Christianity?

2 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s